Yet Another Fandom

Well, I finally! got to see the 2009 Sherlock Holmes movie (I was going to saw the new one, but I’m thinking a year is more than the limit for “new” when it comes to movies.

In fact, I got to see it in Blu-Ray. That makes a difference right? Not one that I noticed, but I suppose it made it special. And it is the first movie I’ve seen in the format-that-makes-no-difference, so it’s special both ways!

Ahem. Anyway

So pretty. Aren’t they pretty?

But I’m not sure why they had what’s his name shirtless, he was not the better for it.

….focus….

Movie=I enjoyed it muchly. Especially the beginning and the end. Such faint damning praise, right? I wasn’t exactly watching for critique purposes, and no longer have access to the movie to rewatch it (*sad face*) so I can’t point to a reason, but after they discovered Lord Blackwood’s evilness everything just dragged for a good half hour. Not that it makes it any less worth watching, because there are more than enough laugh-out-loud moments throughout the movie–despite the dark gray look it’s not a dramatic movie.

Although Sherlock had woobie eyes.

Fanon me finds it an unqualified success however. I loved the references to the texts, especially the way they were worked in from such different occasions–like Mary mentioning Watson’s wounds. Hee! And the bromance* was adorable!  I’m sure this lead to many slashers, which, ugh, but I liked the very brotherly aspect. Like Watson punching Holmes in the face when he totally deserved it. And, and…well, I only got to see the movie once so I don’t have any more examples to draw from, but it was adorable! And thank you for competent!Watson, who almost made up for romantic lead!Irene Adler.

So yeah, I squeed like the fan-girl I am.

One thought on “Yet Another Fandom

  1. I agree that Watsaon is the character who deserves resuscitation from the idiot he can seem in some Hollywood movies – in my novels I give him a much more important role and his medical observations in my latest one (January 2014) provides Holmes with a break-through clue.

    Sherlock Holmes And The Mystery of Einstein’s Daughter

    In late 1903 Einstein’s illegitimate daughter ‘Lieserl’ disappears without trace in Serbia aged around 21 months. As Holmes exclaims in the Mystery of Einstein’s Daughter, “the most ruthless effort has been made by public officials, priests, monks, Einstein’s friends, followers, relatives and relatives-by-marriage to seek out and destroy every document with Lieserl’s name on it. The question is – why?”

    ‘Lieserl’s fate shadows the Einstein legend like some unsolved equation’ Scientist Frederic Golden Time Magazine

    Sherlock Holmes And The Mystery of Einstein’s Daughter is available at http://www.mxpublishing.co.uk/engine/shop/product/9781780925721 or http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sherlock-Holmes-Mystery-Einsteins-Daughter/dp/1780925727. Review copies contact Steve Emecz at mxpublishing@btinternet.com.

    Tim Symonds was born in London. He grew up in Somerset, Dorset and Guernsey. After several years working in the Kenya Highlands and along the Zambezi River he emigrated to the United States. He studied in Germany at Göttingen and at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), where he graduated Phi Beta Kappa in Political Science. Sherlock Holmes And The Mystery Of Einstein’s Daughter was written in a converted oast house in ‘Conan Doyle country’, near Rudyard Kipling’s old home Bateman’s in East Sussex and in the forests and hidden valleys of the Sussex High Weald.
    The author’s other detective novels include Sherlock Holmes and The Dead Boer at Scotney Castle and Sherlock Holmes and The Case of the Bulgarian Codex.
    He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

Leave a Reply

