So I’m Rather Conservative

kroppkakor

If I had to choose the weirdest thing I’ve ever eaten, I couldn’t possibly tell you. I can’t say my mom’s “big dumplings” are all that weird, but she didn’t make them for me until I was in college, and they were a little different.

And not like those described by the taker of the photo, who refers to pork and onions, the so-called ‘big dumplings’ of our family still have the potato dough, but are filled with hamburger. And when they are finished boiling, you fish them out of the water, plot up some butter and sprinkle them with sugar. That’s why I began to think of them as a little odd, sugar not being my condiment of choice with hamburger of any kind.

Maybe it’s because we’re Norwegian.

I mean, as far as I’ve found googling–which I acknowledge to be less than totally reliable–hamburger may never be used by anyone else in this kind of thing. So maybe my family just does it wrong. And generally the family style calls for butter and sugar topping everything from lefse to milk mush.

Grandma Anderson’s Big Dumplings

  • 1 c. mashed potatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 c. milk
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 1/4c. flour
  • 1/2 lb. hamburger

Brown hamburger; season to taste with salt and pepper. With floured hands, pat out dough on hand. Fill center with hamburger. Roll into ball; drop in boiling salted water. Boil approximately 15 minutes, until they float.

So okay, it doesn’t say anything about the sugar on top, but at least you get the full recipe. That’s what you get with family-style recipe books, the authors know who their audience’s are and tend to leave out some hand-holding.

I love the family recipe book. At least for great-great(?)-grandmother’s Depression-era recipes. Simple, good, and very filling. Perfect college fare.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

