Letter Joy: Old-fashioned Communication

“When was the last time you wrote someone a handwritten letter?” stolen from my Plinky answer, which won’t post it here 😛

Envelopes
I plan to single-handedly revive the handwritten letter, actually.Or not.

But I do so love fountain pens (did you know they make disposable versions? Highly recommended). Stationery, too, comes in lovely colors and patterns and nice weight. Careful, though, if you like fountain pens, the printing on iota products—which are beautiful—doesn’t take the ink well.

Most of my friends get a letter on an approximately bimonthly schedule. That’s because I’m lazy and live in a time-warp, so while it feels like it may as well have been days when it’s really been weeks.

Iridium fountain pen nib, macro.

Iridium fountain pen nib, macro. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m sure they’d tell you the one drawback of handwritten letters is the handwritten part. My handwriting is terrible. My ‘real’ fountain pen, too, has a great heft. I just don’t use it often, so it makes my hand tired. It’s gold and white and shiny though, so I refuse to call that a drawback. Do buy a fountain pen. In fact, on ebay, you can find some great sales. Mine came with free shipping, and cost all of eight dollars. So much better than a couple hundred. I’d like one of the ‘retro’ brand fountain pens; Susan Woolridge, a poet, gave a writing workshop and recommended them.

Speaking of handwritten letters, I’ve got a couple to write!

P.S. Apparently people have sold handwritten letters. I heard it from someone who used a quill and knew calligraphy, so I’m not sure it’s something I could pull off. But a calligraphic, quilled letter? I’d buy that.

Leave a Reply

